2009 -

2008 -
  • The district of Lapuz, a former part of La Paz, was declared a separate district

2007 -
1945 -
  • March 25, 1945 - Filipino & American forces liberated Iloilo from Japanese military occupation  the remnants of these battalions were held in Jaro Plaza as a make-shift detention facility
1942 -
  • The Japanese invaded Panay and the economy moved into a standstill. During the Commonwealth era, Iloilo was prosperous and was popularly known as "The Queen City of the South".

1937 -
  • July 16, 1937 Iloilo City regain the city-hood status incorporating the towns of Molo, Jaro, Mandurriao, La Paz and Villa de Arevalo through Commonwealth Act 158.
1900 -
  • The Americans reverted the city's status into a township again
1898 -
  • The Ilonggo leaders agreed to revolt against the Spaniards.
  • December 25, 1898, the Spanish government surrendered to the Ilonggo revoltionaries in Plaza Alfonso XII (Plaza Libertad today).

1896 -
  • The initial reaction of Ilonggos in the outbreak of the Revolution in Manila was hesitant. Yet because of the Spanish colonizers blow by blow defeat by at first with the Katipunan and later by the Americans, Ilonggos later on got involved with the fight for independence. On the other hand, after surrendering Manila to the Americans, the Spanish colonial government moved their seat of power to Iloilo
1894 -
  • A telephone network system operating in the city.\

1891 -
  • A school of Arts and Trades opened.
1890 -
  •  The city government was established.
1888 -
  • An agricultural experimental station established at La Paz.
1883 -
  • May 27, 1883 - Magdalena Jalandoni was born.

1855 - 
  • The waning textile industry was replaced however by the opening of Iloilo's port to world market in 1855


Post a Comment